Irish Surf Legends

Each year, the T-Bay Surf Club inducts a surfer into the Irish Surfing Hall of Fame.¬†They are recognized for their part in, or contribution to the development and history of the sport here in Ireland. They are honored at the annual “Legends” dinner dance (click on Surf Club for more details), and their name, foto, and memorabilia are enshrined at the T-Bay Surf & Eco Centre.¬† The list of inductees follows are in order of induction and with the year that they first surfed a wave.


Joe Roddy – 1949

Hugh O’Brien-Moran – 1966

David Smyth – 1979

Alan Duke – 1966

Eamon Matthews – 1966

Kevin Cavey – 1964

Tom Casey – 1966 (Ireland) KIA Vietnam 1968

Kenny Brothers – Dave, Greg and Paul Kenny. Started surfing around 1966